European Parliament Approves Composition of European Commission

Members of the European Parliament approved the new composition of the European Commission at the plenary session in Strasbourg, after the elected chairman of the EC, Ursula von der Leyen, introduced her team and program.

461 members voted for the new composition of the commission, 157 – against, 89 abstained.

The European Parliament approved composition of the commission after the European Council approved the list of candidates for European Commissioners on Monday. This is a necessary condition for the new commission to begin its five-year term of office on December 1.

The term for the commission members to take office was postponed from November 1 to December 1, after members of the European Parliament had previously rejected three candidates.

The UK did not propose its candidacy in connection with the exit from the European Union. Brexit is scheduled for January 31st.

The new composition of the European Commission was formed by the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs, EC Vice-Chairman Josep Borrell (Spain), Vice-Presidents Frans Timmermans (Netherlands, environmental issues), Margrethe Vestager (Denmark, digital technologies and competition), Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia, economics), Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia, inter-institutional relations), Věra Jourová (Czech Republic, European values and transparency) and others.

Ursula von der Leyen, former German defense minister, is the first woman to serve as head of the EC. Support to her was provided mainly by Centrists and Liberals while Greens and Right-Wing Nationalists voted against.


You might also like

Leave a Comment