13 EU Countries Condemn Hungary For Banning LGBT Propaganda In Schools

13 EU member states said that amendments to Hungary’s LGBT laws are discriminatory. They called on the European Commission to go to court « to fully guarantee that European law is respected ». Hungary has previously banned the dissemination of LGBT information to minors.

« We express our deep concern at the adoption by the Hungarian parliament of amendments discriminating against LGBT persons which violate the right to freedom of expression under the pretext of protecting children… This is a blatant form of discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, and therefore deserves to be condemned, » the statement said.

A joint statement of 13 EU countries was published by the Belgian Foreign Ministry. The country initiated this appeal. It is supported by Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain and Sweden. In total, there are 28 countries in the EU.

The amendments were introduced by Hungary in the laws on media, education, advertising and child and family protection. The bill was introduced in parliament by Prime Minister Viktor Orban. The authorities argue that the amendments are aimed at protecting children and do not address the sexual orientation of minors.

source: euronews.com

You might also like

Leave a Comment